Illinois Forklift Operations Requirements
Those OSHA regulations require that certain training requirements are met in order for the driver to be legally licensed in the United States.
Additionally, in each state the state will adopt their own requirements as well as the individual companies adding to what is necessary to operate a forklift in their jurisdiction.
Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) regulates the safe use of forklifts and other “industrial trucks” in the workplace on the federal level. These requirements are to be found at 29 CFR 1910.178. This standard is available at the OSHA web site: http://www.osha.gov./
In addition to the OSHA health and safety laws, the state of Illinois requires that you have a vehicle operators license in their state.
You must also take and pass an examination in your workplace.
If at any time you are involved in a workplace accident or if your driving of the powered industrial truck is at any time erratic, you are required to retake the examination and pass it with a seventy percent (70%) minimum pass mark.
You must then also be re-examined on a regular schedule for a period of one year.
On average a forklift driver in Illinois will expect to earn $15.16 per hour or $31,540 pa. Illinois is ranked 23rd in terms of earning potential across all states. Hawaii is ranked 1st at $19.14 per hour or $39,810 pa.
Check out how you compare against the other states HERE.
If you still have questions or would like additional information about Forklift Training in Illinois, you can contact the Department of Labor and Industry at (717) 787-5279.
Visit the Office:
Department of Labor
900 S. Spring St.
Springfield, IL 62704
Visit the Website: