According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), forklift operators in the state of Rhode Island rank ninth out of 50 states when it comes to making a good salary.
The average salary for forklift operators in Rhode Island is $36,000 per year. However, in order to grab one of these high-paying positions, potential forklift operators have to undergo specialized training and receive certification from the Office of Safety and Health Administration, also known as OSHA.
Candidates Must Meet Specific Requirements
Forklift operator training and certification in Rhode Island is only open to individuals who are at least 18 years of age. But, there is no requirement that an individual must also have a state driver’s license.
Yet, candidates for a forklift operator’s position in Rhode Island should check with potential employers since often they will require that an employee possesses a valid driver’s license.
Additionally, this specialized training learning how to operate a forklift, which is a special-purpose material handling device, puts great physical demands upon an individual.
It is important for any candidate for this type of position to be in good health, possessing enough physical dexterity to operate the machines controls. The good news is that if a person can operate an automobile, they more than likely can operate a forklift.
Two Methods For Obtaining Training
There are typically two different ways to obtain OSHA-mandated forklift operator training in the state of Rhode Island and these are:
Receive employer-sponsored training on the job.
- Many employers will advertise free certification training in order to gain a good response to job openings.
- Candidates are hired and then subjected to a few hours of training that will lead to taking a certification exam at the end of instruction.
- The employer-sponsored trainer has the authority to conduct the sessions, administer the exams and certify individuals who pass.
- An additional method for obtaining required forklift operator training and certification in the state of Rhode Island is to seek it personally. However, the training could cost as much as $200 to complete.
- But, this puts the individual at a great advantage since they can now list forklift operator certification on their resume and stand out from the rest of the crowd when applying for such a job.are hired and then subjected to a few hours of training that will lead to taking a certification exam at the end of instruction.
A forklift operator in the state of Rhode Island is paid reasonably well and should expect to earn around $17.33 per hour or $36,050 pa.
Conversely if you lived in Hawaii you would be paid a lot more as a forklift driver gets approximately $19.14 per hour or $39,810 pa.
To find out the average salary for a forklift operators in all USA States click HERE.
The RI Department of Labor and Training provides a range of services to assist employers, workers and individuals. From educational services to labor laws, health and safety regulations and standards to and enforcing labor rates the RI Department of Labor and Training can assist.
For more information please check out their website or contact them directly.
Visit the Office:
RI Department of Labor and Training
1511 Pontiac Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920
Main Switchboard (401) 462-8000
Main Fax: (401) 462-8872
Visit the Website: